PDA

View Full Version : overflow drain is too loud?

Jjv123
03/22/2015, 07:17 PM
hello, I am new to this overflow sump system. I never have kept one before. I got myself a Gl*******s 700 gph overflow and return kit. I installed everything per the instructions and they even told me it will be loud for a few days. My question is what has everyone done with the drain pipe that goes into the first stage of the sump. I have pipe run to about three inches above the water level in the first stage. I was not planning on using filter socks or floss. I have been told to stay away for maintenance reasons. So basically the drain pours right into the first stage from three inches above water line. Will the noise go down or should I considered adding three inches of pipe to submerse the drain in the first stage??? This is only day one. I just mixed salt and made sure my waterline accommodates drain down in case of power failures... Your input is greatly appreciated.

jpa0741
03/22/2015, 07:22 PM
Yes I would submerge your line from your overflow to the sump. It will help if that noise bothers you. I have mine running to the basement so I dont worry about that. I just try to make it quite on main display

Jjv123
03/22/2015, 07:37 PM
Thanks for the input I'll give it a try

ryguylears
03/22/2015, 07:42 PM
I have the same box and have a loud overflow. I was told that not to reduce my drain line size, and that was causing the issue. Are you running 1.5" down to your sump?

Jjv123
03/22/2015, 08:21 PM
I am running 1.5. That's what the instructions recommend. My issue is noise from splashing water in the sump

ryguylears
03/22/2015, 08:57 PM