PDA

View Full Version : New and looking for advice

bricepetty1116
03/29/2015, 11:15 PM
Hello all!

I'm new to reefing and this community and wanted to start off by getting some advice on equipment, fish, and corals.

Equipment:
55 gal display, 15 gal sump, 60 lb live rock, 50 lb live sand, deep sand refugium, GFO & Carbon reactor, protein skimmer. Approx 55 gal total water volume. Total flow between return and power head should be about 1270gph (23 X display volume/hr)

Personal Habits:
Very conservative feeder, I like to keep the tank at the border of being overstocked (the more the merrier for me), pretty solid maintenance habits, I feed only mysis shrimp or other higher end foods. (I try and stay with food that dissolves as little as possible, maintaining low nutrients is important to me)

Experience:
I kept a discus tank when I was in high school pretty successfully for around 2 years. I'm very comfortable with keeping fish and high quality water chemistry. I'm an engineering student and have a good mind for chemistry and access to tons of lab equipment and testing materials. The thing about the reef tank I'm striving for that scares me the most are the corals.

Goal:
Lot's of happy, active colorful fish. Hardy colorful corals with lots of movement. Crystal clear water.

1st off I'm looking for a protein skimmer that will fit in a (5.5' x 6') area inside my sump. The water level is usually between 5-7 inches but I'm still at a point where I make pump adjustments every now and then so that could change a tad. My budget is $150 and I'd like for it to be reasonably quiet and appropriate for my water volume.

2nd I'd like some advice on fish to order once my aquarium is done cycling (should be soon. I'm reading 0 ammonia, about 20-40 nitrate, and a detectable but unknown level of nitrite guessing 1-2 ppm)