PDA

View Full Version : Unknown problem

larocqjs193
04/13/2015, 09:56 AM
Ok, so I suppose I am fairly new at the hobby (slightly less than a year). I have a 29gal tank and have been having issues keeping fish alive and can not figure out what is going wrong.

I started my tank wanting seahorses (I know not for beginners). My collection grew to incluse 2 seahorses, striped blenny, scooter blenny (who was eating brine like a champ), and a pygmy angel. Slowly, one by one, everyone stopped eating, became skinny and lost color, then finally I lost them. After losing my last fish I gave up.

In the last couple of months I decided to give it another go. Bought more live rock, let the tank sit a long while before I got 3 green chromis. I let them swim around a while to make sure they would survive and decided to get a chalk bass and another pygmy. Everything was testing fine. Then a chromis went missing. I thought he had gotten bullied because he was a bit smaller than the other two.

Now, I fed everyone this morning and everyone ate fine. Went to the doctors and came back to find another chromis dead. I immediately tested everything!
Salinity: 1.024-1.025
Nitrates: 0-5
Nitrites: 0
Ammonia: 0
pH: 8.0 (not as high as I'd like but it has bean pretty steady at that, sometimes rises to 8.2)

I am at a loss as to why I can't keep my fish alive! Oh, and I haven't seen any signs of parasites.

CStrickland
04/13/2015, 03:43 PM
of course there's no way to know what really happened with the first batch, but there's a few mistakes that probably didn't help things. it sounds like you know the seahorses were not a good choice. scooter blennys are dragonets, they commonly starve in new tanks for a lack of pods, even when they appear champ-like. pygmy angels need a larger tank, and can be aggressive. the striped blenny maybe had a chance, but with all the other stuff dying he probably didn't have very good water, assuming the angel didn't kill him.