PDA

View Full Version : Shutting down tank for a few months

Shiftster
04/15/2015, 01:10 AM
Ok,

So I have been resetting up my tank and now I'm going to move. I want to do several improvements to my set up in its new home and it may take several months. I only have 2 fish and 2 corals, do to previous lack of time, so I can give them away to a good home.
The question I have is what should I do to store the sand and rock while I work on the tank? And what percentage of rock and sand should I keep? I am assuming that I wont need all of it sense I will need to reseed it after it sits for so long.

MaccaPopEye
04/15/2015, 05:42 AM
I have never done it before since I am new to the hobby but if I had to move I would keep as much of the LR as possible. Keep it in a large container with salt water and a running power head (like one of those brute trash cans that I cant seem to find where I live) and just do a water change every week or two. That way when you're ready to start up again the rock is all cycled and ready to go!

From what I have read don't want to keep any of the sand.

Cheers,

Macca

kmbyrnes
04/15/2015, 05:59 AM
Ditch the sand.
If its going to be a couple of months, let the rock dry out then clean it.
Get a few small pieces of LR from the LFS to reseed your tank when you get it running gain.
One advantage to this is it lets you do your aquascape 'dry' and then transfer to the DT .

addictedreefer
04/15/2015, 08:29 AM
Ditch the sand.
If its going to be a couple of months, let the rock dry out then clean it.
Get a few small pieces of LR from the LFS to reseed your tank when you get it running gain.
One advantage to this is it lets you do your aquascape 'dry' and then transfer to the DT .