PDA

View Full Version : One way valve for dosing pump?

elliottsa
04/18/2015, 04:10 PM
About a month ago I purchased a Jebao dosing pump. I've been using it pretty much flawlessly to add a 2 part calc/alc to my tank. I have a JBJ 45 gallon all-in-one so the pump is in my cabinet with the 2 part solution bottles below the pump. The pump pumps upward to my tank.

Long story short - Today I check my bottles to see how much solution I have left and I have a pool of water in the bottom of my stand (luckily I had a plastic container there!) It looks like the lines were back siphoning the water out of the tank to the dosing bottles.

Do they make one-way-valves for dosing in situation like this? Thanks for any info. I'm new to dosing.

SneekaPeek
04/18/2015, 04:37 PM
please look up airline tubing check valve, you'll find your solution there. However, they are not made for liquid solutions, so you might have to change them out periodically/ clean them.

edit: oh and make sure the lines aren't sticking in the water in your tank. have them hang a couple inches above the water line so that if it does back siphon, it only back siphons air. the solution should drip into the tank.

AdamNC
04/18/2015, 05:01 PM
Cheaper way is to just raise the tubes about 1/2" above the water. It's what I've done with my ATO so as not to have any back siphon.

elliottsa
04/18/2015, 05:05 PM
Thanks, Gents! Something so simple makes total sense now. Ugh... lesson learned!

Gorgok
04/18/2015, 05:07 PM
A proper dosing pump should not be able to siphon one way or the other, one or more rollers should always be pinching the line. If it doesn't do that it will not dose accurately (or at all). I would see if there is an issue with the head itself or the line.

slief
04/18/2015, 05:12 PM