PDA

View Full Version : 150 gallon stock list approval?

Tylerdg
04/19/2015, 05:13 PM
72 x 18 x 28 150 gallon reef aquarium
(Planning stages and I know I need to add some stuff after the tank matures further) Wondering if this is an appropriate level of stocking, not overstocked or understocked, and if this stock list looks ok? thanks

6 Bartless Anthias
1 Kole tang
1 Yellow tang
2 Ocellaris Clownfish
2 Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp
1 Blue Linckia Starfish
1 Red Serpent Starfish

Tylerdg
04/19/2015, 07:18 PM
Or any suggestions on additions?

Starlit_
04/19/2015, 09:26 PM
Thumbs Up

Nick_P
04/19/2015, 09:38 PM
From the reading I have done, Bartlets are less than an ideal Anthias due to the propensity for all females to turn male. It seems that the Lyretail variant would be a wiser choice.

I have no first hand experience but I have read multiple accounts of every female turning male and causing aggression issues. I am also unsure of the time required for the morph to occur just that on a long enough timeline they all change to male.

I would omit the kole tang and go for a tomini tang then add a Midas Bleeny to play with your Anthias.

brett559
04/19/2015, 10:50 PM
I'd get a few more. A wrasse or two, and a dwarf angel would be my choice.

Badiskm1
04/20/2015, 12:55 AM
I've had Lyertail anthias and purple queen anthias, four in total and now only one remains, 99% sure that this is due to poor nourishment, i would skip the anthias.
I have a peppermint candycane wrasse that is really hardy, eats everything and anything (pellets, flakes, frozen food cubes and my snowflake eels food: krill, clam, squid and shrimp!) I would recommend this wrasse, it is long and slender and is stripped red and white, IMO body shape looks like a mini barracuda

Tylerdg
04/20/2015, 05:35 AM