PDA

View Full Version : jaredef's 55 gallon diy reef build

jaredef
04/21/2015, 12:30 AM
I have zero experience in the saltwater hobby. But I've been creeping this forum and other great sources of info since I first got into the whole glass box obsession. I started out in the hobby by sending my girlfriend's roommate's dying betta fish to his watery grave using seltzer water. (bad idea, do not recommend)

Of course, I needed a replacement fish for the .5 gallon bowl so I got a black fancy goldfish. I soon discovered that they poop a whole lot and aren't well suited for .5 gallons of swimming room. So I upgraded to a 5 gallon bowl... and bought him another fancy goldfish friend. Of course this was a terrible idea, and the dinky internal bubble filter plugged up in half a day. I soon decided to upgrade to a 10 gallon glass box
http://i.imgur.com/rl4mim0h.jpg(still not big enough)

I soon nixed the goldfish and filled the tank with a few fresh water tropical fishes. This satisfied me for a few months.
http://i.imgur.com/JPJFJIKh.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/4voQiYnh.jpg

I soon began contemplating a saltwater build. If there is one thing I've learned about this hobby it is that patience is the most important aspect of a build. So by default this will be a slow diy build. Doing things as I can and when I can.

I jumped on petco's dollar per gallon sale. Picked up a 55 gallon display, 20 gallon long for a sump, and a 10 gallon for a refugium (not pictured)
http://i.imgur.com/bp0zuMPh.jpg

After I made the purchase I discovered that the 55 gallon tetra tanks are tempered on all 5 sides. So I put my hole saw away and got out the pvc. I diy'd an internal overflow box out of some spare acrylic I had at my disposal. This saw made it quite easy going!
http://i.imgur.com/ySqOwFYh.jpg

I did not want to silicon anything to the back of my tank so I just made it completely self contained.
http://i.imgur.com/N8vLu5bh.jpg