PDA

View Full Version : red slime :-((((

djniii
04/24/2015, 10:32 AM
Hey guys so im really new to the hobby but i went all in i am experienced with fresh water but the salt water critters are way to damn cool so i couldn't stay away. I went all in getting a 55 gal with sump protien skimmer and everything, i havnt even gotten an ammonia reading or nitrites or nitrate but redslime is already getting ready to take over, i shut off my light for the last 4 days and yesterday i put it on for maybe 4 hours and the bacteria spred like no tomrowo Idk what to do, i was given file fish and a clown fish and a domino damsel also i have a mantis shrimp that hitched hiked on a peice of live rock i purchased.:mad:

gone fishin
04/24/2015, 10:44 AM
http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1031074

The link may be of some use to you. It basically a book. There is a section on cyano.

since you got fish already I will assume you cycled the tank already. The cyano may just be part of your new tank and may go away on its own. It is highly possible the domino damsel will get pretty aggressive as it matures. I would remove the mantis from the tank, IMO they need their own tank. Good luck

Kyle461
04/24/2015, 10:46 AM
Suck out the cyano when doing water changes along with keeping the lights to a minimum.

How old is your tank? Has it cycled?

djniii
04/24/2015, 10:49 AM
but the tank hasnt cycled yet so some one told me to put fish in to speed it up its about 2 1/2 weeks old

Kyle461
04/24/2015, 10:53 AM
While that's true it is cruel to the fish. Once ammonia levels start to climb it can hurt them, especially since you have multiple fish.

If you can, you should put the fish in a separate QT tank and perform multiple water changes to keep the ammonia down. They can hang there while your main tank cycles and this may take 4-whatever weeks.

sidewinder2180
04/24/2015, 10:55 AM