PDA

View Full Version : Deep Sand Bed for first tank?

dlavallee
05/09/2015, 10:27 AM
Hi All,

I am just getting started and am currently in the research/planning phase. I am planning on going medium-large from the get-go; about 90-125 gallons with a 55 gallon refugium.

I know there are plenty of discussions out there as to whether DSBs are a good idea or a bad idea. I am not asking that here. What I am asking is, whether or not a DSB is a good idea for a beginning reefer. What I mean by DSB is one deep enough for anaerobic bacteria to accumulate for the purpose of breaking the nitrates up into nitrogen and oxygen, or having a Jaubert plenum within the DSB for the same purpose.

Any and all feedback is much appreciated! :)

Thanks,

Dave

hobbzz
05/09/2015, 10:51 AM
A dsb needs to meet two minimum requirements to be effective. Is needs to have at least would square feet of surface area and be a minimum of six inches deep over the entire area. They cause problems down the road and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone unless you were doing it remotely. Carbon dosing is much easier for denitrification.

IanWR
05/09/2015, 11:03 AM
If you're considering a jaubert plenum you are doing some out of date research. I think this hobby is still advancing relatively quickly, so what was innovative 20 years ago may already be obsolete. I doubt you would find 1 in 100 (maybe 1000?) new set ups using a plenum. I think you would see less than 1 in 50 using a DSB in the display. And some of those are to keep things like garden eels.

CStrickland
05/09/2015, 12:03 PM
Yup. It's like all the reasons not to do it are just a little stronger when you are new. Id def back up and reconsider, but it's hard to explain why it's a bad idea for a noob without getting into why it's a plain old bad idea. I don't think they are separate questions really.

dlavallee
05/09/2015, 02:52 PM
Thanks for the suggestions! It certainly looks like we have a consensus here.. :)