PDA

View Full Version : i need advise on my lionfish tank im setting up

Charley0400
05/12/2015, 11:21 AM
Hi... I'm new to the hobby. I have a 215 gallon with trigger system sump and protein skimmer (sump is 40 gallons). I am building the tank around a volitan lionfish and yellow headed moray eel (this eel is get some experience under my belt before I trade it in for a Japanese dragon eel). I have looked into several different ideas for tank mates. And have narrowed it down to the following:

Naso (maybe blonde) tang
Emperor (or regal if emperor is too big) angelfish
Niger trigger (as long as its not going to bully my lion... REALLY NEED ADVISE ON THIS OPTION!)
Marine betta
Miniatus grouper
Immaculatus puffer or starts and stripes puffer

I have heard triggers and puffers are not typically good tank mates for lions but if there are exceptions I am willing to look into them and even give them a try, but I am not willing to try anything that will kill my lionfish overnight.

Another concern is fish that are compatible with an eel.

Thank you for all your help!!!

Megistos
05/12/2015, 03:07 PM
I am building the tank around a volitan lionfish and yellow headed moray eel

http://cdn.meme.am/instances/500x/62143578.jpg

Charley0400
05/12/2015, 09:16 PM

Why is this? I am inexperienced :-) lol obviously

ChimolaFish
05/12/2015, 10:03 PM

That's great. Also, triggers and lions dont really mix, man. I wouldm't even try either with a fimbriated moray though. Those things are nasty, haha. Dragons can be pretty aggressive too.

Daniel Machado
05/13/2015, 03:53 PM
I'd make a few changes in the pretended fauna...

First I'd choose a safer moray eel, like a miliaris (any morph, but the golden one is nicer) or a snowflake. These get to a manageable size and are not super-killers.