PDA

View Full Version : So, water flow and likely a pile of other questions.

tennesseebob
05/27/2015, 01:43 AM
First me...I'm new to marine and an infant to aquarism in general. Had a small marine tank for 6 months, liked it, fw tank is converted to salt now.

I liked the look of the gyre pump, but I don't want to sound like a cheapskate, but I don't have tons of money so I'm saving where I can...so Jebao lol.

I had 2 small ones from my little tank (rw4) and got 2 rw8 and lined them all up on one side of my tank to mimic the Gyre.

My question is, is this flow pattern problematic, the water in the whole tank rotates counterclockwise, my idea is the coral that will need the highest flow apear to generally need the highest light, so top of the tank is high flow and bottom is lower.

tennesseebob
05/27/2015, 01:54 AM
DT 150g tall, 48"-24"-30"
40breeder DIY sump
4 power heads 2 each Jebao rw-4 and rw-15
Return is reef octopus diablo 3500 dc
Lights 2 ocean revive arctic t-247 (arriving tomorrow)

No skimmer, next paycheck will get Skimz sm201

The rock was put together by me, fiberglass rod, epoxy, and silicone

tennesseebob
05/27/2015, 01:56 AM
Pumps

tennesseebob
05/27/2015, 01:58 AM
Sump

tennesseebob
05/27/2015, 02:03 AM
I'd take better pics, but those were with an ipad to post quickly lol

homer1475
05/27/2015, 05:50 AM
Are those bioballs in your sump? If they are, unless you want to keep taking them out and rinsing them off all the time(like every week)I would junk them and just put some live rock in there. They tend to trap detritus and become nitrate factories, unless you constantly rinse them off. Way to much time and energy spent on something that can be accomplished with another product that wont need to be cleaned constantly.