PDA

View Full Version : Sky high aluminum from Marine Pure ceramic bio media?

organism
06/01/2015, 12:14 PM
I've been using the Marine Pure spheres for about 6 months in my frag tank and also threw a handful into the back chamber of my 34 gallon Solana. A few months ago I read one of RHF's posts in an old thread about ceramic media possibly leaching aluminum, and since some of my corals had been looking a little weird I went two months without a water change and then sent the water out to Triton for testing.

The aluminum came back at 184.9 micro g/L instead of 2, so a ton of aluminum came from somewhere. I use Red Sea Coral Pro salt, and the only thing my tank received during those two months was vodka for carbon dosing, Spectrum pellets for my two clownfish and Fauna Marin LPS pellets every so often for corals.

I'd love to hear some opinions on where it may have come from as well as suggestions on how to get rid of this excess aluminum. I'm going with water changes and carbon, but any ideas are appreciated. Either way I'm replacing the ceramic with Siporax which has been effective for nitrates in my frag tank and has the benefit of being inert...

ReefCowboy
06/01/2015, 12:20 PM
I've been using the Marine Pure spheres for about 6 months in my frag tank and also threw a handful into the back chamber of my 34 gallon Solana. A few months ago I read one of RHF's posts in an old thread about ceramic media possibly leaching aluminum, and since some of my corals had been looking a little weird I went two months without a water change and then sent the water out to Triton for testing.

The aluminum came back at 184.9 micro g/L instead of 2, so a ton of aluminum came from somewhere. I use Red Sea Coral Pro salt, and the only thing my tank received during those two months was vodka for carbon dosing, Spectrum pellets for my two clownfish and Fauna Marin LPS pellets every so often for corals.