PDA

View Full Version : Feeding sponges with DIY Phytoplankton question

firemountain
06/06/2015, 03:40 PM
Everyone,

I have a sponge in quarantine that I picked up from a Blue Zoo Aquatics. For feeding I have been giving it TLF Marine snow and live Rotifers that I bought from my LFS.

I have been reading about making my own Phytoplankton and have a few questions.

In looking at the F2 Phyto cultures available from Florida Aqua Farms, the smallest micron size culture they sell is like 2 microns. From what I understand, sponges need a smaller micron size ( like between .5 to 1 micron).

If that is the case, I would like to know if there are any RC members out there who culture their own Phyto. And have good luck with feeding their sponges.

I am new to sponges and growing Phyto..... So any advice on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

noy
06/07/2015, 11:38 AM
Everyone,

I have a sponge in quarantine that I picked up from a Blue Zoo Aquatics. For feeding I have been giving it TLF Marine snow and live Rotifers that I bought from my LFS.

I have been reading about making my own Phytoplankton and have a few questions.

In looking at the F2 Phyto cultures available from Florida Aqua Farms, the smallest micron size culture they sell is like 2 microns. From what I understand, sponges need a smaller micron size ( like between .5 to 1 micron).

If that is the case, I would like to know if there are any RC members out there who culture their own Phyto. And have good luck with feeding their sponges.

I am new to sponges and growing Phyto..... So any advice on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

What kind of sponge is it?