PDA

View Full Version : What Happened to MaxCap & SilicaBuster Bulk Refills?


dja1980
06/15/2015, 09:27 AM
I tried to order the MaxCap and SilicaBuster Bulk Refills last week (drop-ship through Premium Aquatics), but I was told that they have been discontinued by SpectraPure. Is this really the case? If so, why?

shred5
06/15/2015, 09:32 AM
Don't know but they are on sale at spectrapure's website.

http://spectrapure.com/FILTERS-MEMBRANES-RESIN/DI-CARTRIDGES-RESIN

dja1980
06/15/2015, 09:52 AM
Thanks for the reply, but the Bulk Refills for MaxCap and SilicaBuster don't show up there anymore either... only the individual cartridges and Bulk Refills for Color Indicating DI Resin and Mixed-Bed Semiconductor Grade DI Resin.

SpectraPure
06/15/2015, 10:20 AM
Our Bulk refills for mixed bed resin, color and non color indicating are extremely high performing resin (http://spectrapure.com/frequently-asked-questions-p2).

We continue to sell these for customers wishing to "refill" their own as these resins are more easily used successfully by the customer for this purpose as compared to our multilayer Silica buster or Maxcap bulk refill kits, as we experienced a high rate of mix induced problems in the field which lead to us pulling the kits. They were harder for the customer to mix exactly (very precisely) which is required, as well using mix based on the fly testing to insure optimal mixes for ultimate performance.

Please try our bulk resin (http://spectrapure.com/FILTERS-MEMBRANES-RESIN/DI-CARTRIDGES-RESIN) as it is very high performance and offers similar cost savings for the do-it-yourselfer.


bruce

dja1980
06/15/2015, 10:39 AM
Thanks for the explanation, Bruce. As I'm sure you know, using the Bulk Refills was one of the ways to dramatically reduce the cost of ownership for these units. For those of us using MaxCap systems, how would we go about converting to using your Bulk DI resin?

I bought my system in 2008, and I'm used to swapping out my MaxCap when post-MaxCap TDS goes to 001 and changing out the SilicaBuster with every 3rd MaxCap. Would I use the same method, only the 4th and 5th stage would now be filled with the same DI resin?

SpectraPure
06/15/2015, 10:41 AM
dja1980

When the first DI reaches one we use the alternative method. Remove the first DI, and put the second in the first DI spot, and then fill a new for the final.

Jeremy

dja1980
06/15/2015, 10:42 AM
Perfect... thank you! :)

SpectraPure
06/15/2015, 10:54 AM
Thank you for being a loyal customer!

Jeremy