PDA

View Full Version : Redspot Cardinal breeding / incubation period

AkoAung
06/26/2015, 11:14 AM
I have had a group of redspot cardinals for a few months now. They have been spawning now and then, but males typically do not hold eggs that long. I have one that's been holding eggs for about 5-6 days now.

Would the experts here have any idea what the typical incubation period is for the non-bangaii cardinals?

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showpost.php?p=23834538&postcount=194

gogo7
06/26/2015, 06:19 PM
i like this one. i'm no expert on cardinals, but i'm interested in what you're doing. is this the first time for them?

AkoAung
06/26/2015, 09:25 PM
hi gogo. this fish would be perfect for nanos though picos might be a stretch. seems to prefer low flow, and aren't strong swimmers. no it isn't the first time they've been breeding. but it is the first time a male has held eggs this long. the babies will likely get eaten once hatched though. I have no experience rearing salt water fish larvae. just getting more and more curious since he's holding it this long.

gogo7
06/27/2015, 05:54 PM
hi gogo. this fish would be perfect for nanos though picos might be a stretch. seems to prefer low flow, and aren't strong swimmers. no it isn't the first time they've been breeding. but it is the first time a male has held eggs this long. the babies will likely get eaten once hatched though. I have no experience rearing salt water fish larvae. just getting more and more curious since he's holding it this long.

i think this is kinda cool. if you can catch them, i'd be really interested in your results. i've got a few more questions ako.
how shallow would you recommend for these guys. i've seen them in the lfs, kinda pricey here in kw. and i thought about using them or similar species in a super shallow. 9" with 1" sand. not sure of the dimensions yet, but probably about 20" square.
how long have they been sexually active? are they in your 18?
all the best.
gogo

kizanne