PDA

View Full Version : need some advice about how to setup and maintain my reef

Mikenroe
06/28/2015, 03:48 PM
Hi there, i am new to RC and here is my question. I was just looking at some of the photos of the current tank of the month, as well as with viewing some of pictures of the past tanks of the month. I see these reefs people have created where almost every space is occupied by coral, of all types, spa,lps,ups, and sps. How do you create such environments that all these spaces like this. Is it that all the spa are at the top, lps in the middle, and softies at the bottom, with ups being in dark spaces and other things like brains and clams being on the bottom? I want to be able to do this.
Here re some other questions?

I would like to tale out all my live rock and re-aqua scape my aquarium, however will this stir up to much of the sand bed, and produce high nitrates?

What things should I do if I do re-aquascape?

Any other things I need to add to my husbandry to make a these type of environments possible and healthy. Here is list of what i have and do;

Tank:
160 gal with 180lbs live sand and 150lbs live rock

Sump:
eshopps rs300 with refugium with deep sand bed with mud and chaeto
led refugium light on 24 hrs

Protein skimmer
Bubble Magus NAC9

UV Steralizer

Lighting
3 AquaIllumination Hydra

2 MP 40's Vortech wireless powerheads

What I do: