PDA

View Full Version : basement floor not level - trying to run 12 feet of tanks....help

bridun22ajl
07/02/2015, 08:47 PM
My basement is a concrete slab with sump pumps in adjecent corners and a french drain. I am trying to set up 3 tanks 4' long each. the problem is the basemtn is pitched to the sump pump and I need it to be level. I am using iron stands and if i use shims I will need about 2" of shim on the last tank.

I think my only option is to pour a slab on top of my slab just for the tanks. Does anyone else have any other ideas? If not, can anyone point me in the direction for pouring a level slab on top of concrete? I have never done this before.

Thanks.

tennesseebob
07/02/2015, 09:15 PM
no need, build a wooden stand first, get 12' boards to use as runners, and then some 2 x 4s to use as cross braces. you are looking to build a ladder of sorts.

now set one end on the high side of the floor, the other end will need 2 legs tall enough to bring it to level.

after that cut more legs and place them every 2 feet or so, front and back, after that cover with a sheet of 1/2 plywood.

now, put your metal stand on top of this short level stage you just built.

also, if your basement is prone to leaking i would use treated lumber and stainless steel screws...just in case.

davocean
07/02/2015, 09:22 PM
You could shim, rip a board offset to account for slope, or do what I just did, pour a thin concrete slab in place.
I laid down heavy plastic first so it will come right up when I ever move.

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e141/mermail/SCA%20120g/mudstone2_zps4u6ycnxi.jpg (http://s38.photobucket.com/user/mermail/media/SCA%20120g/mudstone2_zps4u6ycnxi.jpg.html)

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e141/mermail/SCA%20120g/mudstone%203_zpsbyvl0ree.jpg (http://s38.photobucket.com/user/mermail/media/SCA%20120g/mudstone%203_zpsbyvl0ree.jpg.html)