PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner Biocube 29

TyHoward
07/03/2015, 10:11 PM
I recently purchased a new Biocube 29, I have kept and maintained freshwater tanks since i was a kid but I have always drooled over the marine/reef tanks. My setup currently has no modifications (my first will probably be replacing the bio-balls with LR rubble)

I have 20 lbs of dry rock coming in the mail and I'm buying 10 lbs of LR at my LFS.

I don't really have any specific questions, I'm just looking for knowledge on my tank in particular

After cycling and CUC are in place it will most likely be a FOWLR tank with the possibility of adding something such as a rock flower in the future.

Any suggestions on operation of the tank and modifications to the tank are greatly appreciated!

Coralreefer1
07/03/2015, 10:29 PM
Great that you decided to make the switch. Your on the right track with replacing your bio balls as they are a nitrate trap! Also, you will probably want to invest in another powerheads to increase water flow as the one outlet is not enough, especially with rock work. You have fresh water experience so you know about the cycling issue. All I can add with out inundating you right off the bat, is to go slow...as nothing good happens fast except for performing water changes to correct water parameter and quality issues.
Do a lot of research and ask questions to help you succeed, especially since the only dumb question is the one you did not ask!
It is better to be proactive rather than reactive when it comes to water parameters and livestock.
Best of luck to you!

TyHoward
07/03/2015, 10:43 PM
Coralreefer1,

Thank you! everyone on the forum may shun me for asking this but I haven't found a clear answer. I know the best option for water is the RO/DI, but what about using tap water conditioned with good ol' API Tap Water Conditioner? Just wanting to go ahead and get an answer before I make a devastating mistake with my tank

gone fishin
07/04/2015, 05:41 AM