PDA

View Full Version : First LED build

shark565
07/04/2015, 09:52 AM
Hello everyone, I am planning an upgrade of my 6 gallon pico and I need some help with the new LED lights. The new tank is going to be 50sm cube with another 10 sm on the bak for internal sump. I will be usung 5 x9w royal blue LEDs. I bought a power supply with 12v DC output current, but when i wired one LED , just for a test it started glowing then stopped and in my opinion died. Should i be using resistors or smth?
P.S. I am a complete newbie with all the LEDs and everything. Sorry if my question is stupid.

Webmanny
07/04/2015, 08:19 PM
I would need to know a bit more about your LEDs to better assist. Do you have a link to where you got them out their specs?

Normally 9w LEDs are 27v and this could be why yours are not lighting up or it could be that they are lower voltage and you just fried them.

Either way could be right, but I need more information to be able to assist.

oreo57
07/05/2015, 12:00 AM
I would need to know a bit more about your LEDs to better assist. Do you have a link to where you got them out their specs?

Normally 9w LEDs are 27v and this could be why yours are not lighting up or it could be that they are lower voltage and you just fried them.

Either way could be right, but I need more information to be able to assist.

Plenty of 12V 9W LEDs..
Even 3 3W in series is in the 10-12v range..
though it solves nothing.. ;)
http://www.dx.com/p/9-x-1w-9w-led-emitter-on-38mm-base-11v-12v-500-lumens-white-6500k-700ma-5862#.VZjGD7GrPO8

3x3 arrays...

shark565
07/05/2015, 03:25 AM
The Leds are like these : http://www.aliexpress.com/item/EPILED-45MIL-10W-Royal-Blue-450nm-High-Power-LED-Multichip-Intergrated-Light-Source-for-Aquarium/1733139222.html
So, I think I should drop my voltage to 10v ,but I don't know how.

oreo57
07/05/2015, 08:42 AM