PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Insight/Advice on New Tank Issues

slootha
07/04/2015, 11:04 AM
Hello,

This is my first post on RC, but I have been using this as one of my many resources when i have questions or need to do more research into the hobby. I am a novice to the hobby, having only just started converting to a saltwater tank a couple of months ago. I know I have made some mistakes, and that I will most likely make more before i learn everything. I am having an issue that I'm not sure about, however, and was hoping to get some help from you fine gentlemen and ladies.

First off, my setup and parameters. I'm running a 75g drilled aquarium with an internal corner overflow, which is currently running to a 29g diy sump in the base. The sump currently has filter socks, purigen, chemipure elite, and activated carbon for filtration. I have a SRO 1000int skimmer en route and should be here first thing next week (it took so long because i had to buy used due to budget). My return pump is a Rio Plus 2100 Aqua Pump 692 GPH. I have two powerheads in the tank (a SunSun 800 gph and a custom made 1600 gph double powerhead). I currently have about 61 pounds of live rock in the tank, with roughly 80lbs of argonite live sand. I'm using a 300w heater set for roughly 79 degrees farenheit. I am using RO-DI water at TDS~4-10 mixed with Instant Ocean Reef Crystals salt.

I tested my parameters about 30 minutes ago. Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrites 0ppm, Nitrates 0-5ppm, Phosphates around 0.25 ppm, PH is 8.2. My temperature has been between 77 and 82 degrees Farenheit over the last couple weeks (currently 80.4). Specific Gravity is 1.025. Doing weekly water changes of roughly 10%.