PDA

View Full Version : Did not know about cycle until i got fishes

Takokok
07/08/2015, 01:30 AM
So hey guys so i just discovered that i need to do a nitrogen cycle on my 40g salt water aquarium, i know that i was stupid to buy a fish right away,,, but hey im a beginner, so yeah i bought a pair of yellow tail damsels, 2 perc clown fish, 2 fire goby, 5 snails and 1 cleaner shrimp, im at my 8th day now, i have 2 large live rock about 7 pounds each, and sand corals, im just scared to lose all my fishes and cleaning crew, i mean damsels yeah they can go because they're aggressive. But not my nemo and firefish and cleaners. what should i do ? i saw a lot of thread that it is possible to do a cycle with fishes on them, but i dont know about having snails and a cleaner shrimp, im afraid that they might die from ammonia or nitrate ,nitrite. they're doing good though, eating normally

afrayler
07/08/2015, 01:43 AM
How many days has it been? I'm surprised your LFS didn't give you advice or ask about your tank set up first. Just quickly off the top of my head I would think you need go juice to get bacteria in there to break everything down faster. I usually go an ounce per 10 gallons. I'm not sure if possible or not but if you could get the more important fish out (everything buy damsels) and let the store hold them or give you store credit it would let the bacteria work more efficiently while letting your tank cycle longer. The key in my experience with fish tanks is patience and knowing what your putting into the tank. I'm still no where near being an expert but I try and ask as much as I can before I do anything regarding my tanks.

Takokok
07/08/2015, 01:58 AM
i guess the local fish store thought that i already have a normal functioning tank already because i was asking a lot of questions. my tank is going in 9 days now, i already added 20ml of bacteria food earlier, i'll try returning them for store credit, i hope i still get something

Isaacs55
07/08/2015, 02:06 AM