PDA

View Full Version : Made my own fish food. Did I miss any nutrients?

Nromano1212
07/15/2015, 09:24 PM
Hey guys. I decided I would try my hand at making some fish food. I prob should have checked on here to ask if I mixed enough stuff up to cover their whole diet but my fish went crazy for it. Here is what I added:

-12oz royal white pealed shrimp
-16oz panamei seafood mix
-5 carrots (boiled to soften)
-1 big clove of garlic
-32oz chopped frozen spinach
-2 seaweed sheets (soaked in water to soften)
-1 tbl spoon of prime reef fish flakes
-9 small packets of instant ocean Cyclopeze
-8oz Gerber baby food peas
-1 egg yolk

(Check out the tank in the background!!!) lol

It didn't seem like it needed gelatin to bind together. I stuck everything in the food processor and then did it again. Lol. Bagged it and now it's in the freezer. I'm still new at this hobby so to you professionals, did I do ok? How often should I feed them this and do I need other stuff to supplement their diet? I know a good rule of thumb is give them enough to eat everything in two mins right? Just once a day? Thanks in advance! Nick

manny532
07/16/2015, 02:57 AM
Wow, that's a lot of greens pretty awesome. I actually make my own fish food too but have not yet added greens to it. I feed nori on a stick and veggie flakes superarte. My meats include shrimp, krill, octopus, squid, scallop, clam and Atlantic salmon. Great thing about making your own food is you know exactly what's in it, you can get super creative and imo and ime fish love it so much more and look way healthier too.

jimbob321
07/16/2015, 04:11 AM
i just use panamei seafood mix or the equivalent, and nori blend it with some water.
it will make the skimmer go nuts for a few minutes unless you turn it off while feeding.

Nromano1212
07/16/2015, 06:53 AM