PDA

View Full Version : Am I capable of building a small acrylic tank?

BrettDS
07/21/2015, 09:36 AM
I've been trying to find a place for a small refugium inside my stand. Unfortunately I took up most of my extra space with a large reservoir for an auto water change. Pretty much the only place I have left now is about 4.5" between the front of the sump and the front of the stand. I started looking at HOB refugiums and they actually would be a pretty good fit for the space I have, but they also tend to be rather expensive. Additionally, if I made one, I could make it taller and slightly longer than an out of box HOB refugium and get a bit of extra water in there.

I've never built anything out of acrylic before, but I've done a lot of other projects and I feel like this might be a pretty good starter acrylic project for me.

I'm looking at trying to make something that's about 16" long, 4.5" wide, and 17" tall. If I go ahead with it, how thick would the acrylic need to be? Would I need any cross braces for the 16" length?

Thanks for any thoughts:)

ericarenee
07/21/2015, 01:32 PM
This can be done and would work thou not a idea size I could see some nice Caulerpa Growing in there to feed the fish. or even chato ..

But Rather you are Capable .. i WOULD Think so but that would be dependent your skill set
I would use the thicker solvent if you are new to Acrylic bonding. It takes much longer to dry but will fill any Voids in your cuts...

if for chato. I Would plumb the water inlet on say the left end at the bottom Water outlet left top .. Might help keeping it circulated.. maybe even a small baffle with notches or holes at that end to protect the chato from getting out the outlet pipe or clogging it. Kinda like Jelly fish tank

BrettDS
07/21/2015, 03:39 PM
Yeah, it's kind of a weird size, but it's about the only spot I have left for anything. I'm thinking I'll do a bit of live sand rock rubble in there to try to keep a good pod population.

skeeter_ca