PDA

View Full Version : Structural engineer advice needed for large tank

d-man
07/24/2015, 09:38 AM
So my soon to be bride told me that if we decide to stay in my place rather than buy a house I can build a larger tank.
My place is a townhome, and the floor is concrete. My question is, what are the structural capabilities of concrete on a footprint of 144"x30"x40"?
The tank will be against a back wall if that matters or not on concrete foundation.
Thanks
Derek

BuzzPion
07/24/2015, 09:59 AM
There should not be a problem at all. I am no engineer, but that is the best case scenario for any tank--to sit on a concrete foundation.

Concrete is rated at 3000 psi+. Unless you fill the tank with depleted uranium you should be fine.

ericarenee
07/24/2015, 10:12 AM
There should not be a problem at all. I am no engineer, but that is the best case scenario for any tank--to sit on a concrete foundation.

Concrete is rated at 3000 psi+. Unless you fill the tank with depleted uranium you should be fine.

1+ This.

But.. If your house is on a SLAP With NO Footer (Yea there are idiots ) and has some type of sinking Moving ,Huge Crack issue there the weight could contribute to said issue... Your floor is prob the best for such a tank....

3000 psi is a low Low number for a mature slab depending on the MIX...

d-man
07/24/2015, 12:30 PM
My place was built 10yrs ago here in southern Cali. So earthquake standards are extremely tight.
Ok great thanks

ericarenee
07/24/2015, 12:36 PM
My place was built 10yrs ago here in southern Cali. So earthquake standards are extremely tight.
Ok great thanks

Earthquake and Aquarium in the same sentence scares me.I been thru one big earthquake and it was in Anchorage Alaska....... EEEEKKKK....

slief
07/24/2015, 12:56 PM
Ok great thanks

have a 96"x48"x24" display plus my sumps and refugiums that are built on and under my stands on my concrete foundation and my house has only settle 3" lower on that side of the house from the tanks weight..