PDA

View Full Version : Good softies with bright colors!

PfenWendt
07/27/2015, 05:48 PM
I am new to corals, and am in love with soft corals. They're all i plan to add in my tank...maybe one or two LPS. I just want to hear some opinions on some soft corals to add that'll help brighten up the tank a bit and add some movement. I currently have a GSP frag that looks amazing in the blue actinic lights, a mettalic green leather, a toadstool, and a piece of rock with yellow colony polyps on it. The greener the coral the better imo ;) I plan to add some pulsing xenias...i had a frag of them but they didn't do to well at all so now that i have had it running longer and my parameters more in check i might give them another try.

3dees
07/28/2015, 11:21 AM
this is my 120 gal. reef. mostly softies and a few lps. not as colorful as sps, but I don't have to dose anything. for green get a neon cabbage. not expensive and easy to keep.

PfenWendt
07/28/2015, 02:46 PM
this is my 120 gal. reef. mostly softies and a few lps. not as colorful as sps, but I don't have to dose anything. for green get a neon cabbage. not expensive and easy to keep.

Your tank is looking good! I am going to for sure keep an eye out for a neon cabbage, thanks for the suggestion :wavehand:

Fallling
07/29/2015, 01:53 PM
For colorful stuff, you might have to hunt around a bit, but it's out there. Clavularia can come in purple w/fluorescent gold streaks or neon green. I like DD for colorful leathers including sinularia, toadstool, capnella, Lobophytum - green/pinks/blues/yellows. There's always zoas/palys as well.

SaltandLight
08/02/2015, 06:44 AM
When I first started out, I had a few ricordea that really added some color to the tank. St. Thomas mushrooms are pretty nice too. Rock anemones might also be something to think about.

Sipiku
08/12/2015, 07:44 AM