PDA

View Full Version : Any Plumbers on this forum - Please help!

thakki
08/02/2015, 01:55 PM
I had posted few days back on plumbing my tank...I assumed the source of water will be from the T'd off CPVC line from the main water supply line. There are two T's on the main supply line. One going to front yard and the other going to back yard for hose connection. Both can be opened or closed right after the T on the main line. Its 1/2 inch cpvc line (in RED all three lines - in picture)...planning to put a T in one of these line and plumb as shown in the picture. Is it a good idea to do this? I spoke to a person on local hardware store...he says simple gate valves will not hold the pressure from the main water supply. I have no experience with plumbing...I dont want to take any changes putting a T where a simple ball valve cannot handle pressure. Also, please checkout the plan...I am also planning to reuse the same cpvc line to pump the RODI waste back to the yard for watering. Is this a concern? Is there a possibility of contaminating the main water supply even after 2 gate valves? If so, I could drop this plan...my main concern here is whether I can put a T on the main water supply. Here is more description of gate valves and their purpose.

Main water supply valves:

L - Remains closed. Opened when water supply for RODI is needed
N- Remains closed. Opened when salt water needs to be pumped into the tank at the time of water changes
O - Remains closed. Opened when water supply for RODI is needed
P - Remains opened. Closed in winter to avoid freezing temp.
Q - Remains opened. Closed when water supply for RODI is needed

Other valves:

A - remains closed. Opened at the time of water changes to drain the water from the DT.
B - remains opened. Closed at the time of water changes.
C - remains opened. Closed at the time of water changes to pump the fresh saltwater into the DT.
D - remains closed. Opened at the time of water changes.