PDA

View Full Version : Light wattage question

mitek2
08/08/2015, 08:27 PM
I know the new thing is LED lights, and one day I will have those I hope. In the meantime I have power compacts. My question though is if a 55 W actinic gives off the same radiation or acqilable light as a 10k white.
I know the K rating is the spectrum or color of light. Since actinic and 10 K are both 55 W could I replace one for the other and have the same watts per gallon of functional light. I'm trying to create more blue but I don't want to lose my output in the process

Thanks!!

soeminpaing
08/09/2015, 02:26 AM
I am no expert but I think PAR output of blue LED is very low compare to white LED.

Ron Reefman
08/09/2015, 05:49 AM
I am no expert but I think PAR output of blue LED is very low compare to white LED.

soeminpaing, please don't take this the wrong way, but you are right, you are not an expert.

PAR has very little to do with the spectrum. PAR is Photosynthetically Active Radiation. Different kinds of plants use different spectrum of light to do photosynthesis so PAR is made up of all visible light that plants use.

The zooxanthellae (algae) that is inside our coral's polyps use more blue spectrum than any other to do photosynthesis so it can grow and feed the coral.

To the OP: I'm not sure what it is you are asking? The K ratings isn't exactly about spectrum as much as it is about the mix of a lot of spectrum that we use to describe how warm or cool (redish yellow to blueish) our 'white' lights are. Spectrum is the wavelength of a particular color, i.e. violet is in the low 400nm range and red is in the high 600nm range.

If you are asking will the 55w blue fluorescent tube be as useful to the coral as the 55w white tube? It will probably be better for it.
If you are asking will it light up the tank as well for you to see? It won't be at 'white' and probably not as bright. But your coral will 'see' more useful light energy.