PDA

View Full Version : What is growing my bubble algae?

serbusfish
09/08/2015, 04:06 PM
I have a fairly concerning red bubble algae problem. Yesterday I had to remove a powerhead to clean it as bubble alage was growing out of it. There are various clusters scattered around the tank, I have plucked some out but it will take a few water changes to get them all.

I dont understand what is causing them to bloom, my nitrate is at 2 and phosphate 0.03. What other nutrients can there be? I have ordered some polyfilter and im hoping that is going to help absorb any excess nutrients and slow the bubble algae growth. I have an emerald crab but he doesnt seem interested in eating it :(

anthonys51
09/08/2015, 04:17 PM
i am not an expert, and maybe someone correct me if i am wrong, but i would add more rock to your tank. it looks light. rock is living filters and i have a ton in my 57 gallon tank. my tank looks very crowded and i feed my fish a lot and cant seem to build phosphates or nitrates. just a though, but maybe you are doing something else different than me

anthonys51
09/08/2015, 04:20 PM
My tank http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/08/373bd69c8a20ae88c67f86ce792b2682.jpg

serbusfish
09/08/2015, 04:29 PM
i am not an expert, and maybe someone correct me if i am wrong, but i would add more rock to your tank. it looks light. rock is living filters and i have a ton in my 57 gallon tank. my tank looks very crowded and i feed my fish a lot and cant seem to build phosphates or nitrates. just a though, but maybe you are doing something else different than me

Did you see my most recent pic? I have added more since I setup the tank. I thought there was a decent amount (around 78lbs):

http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h58/serbusfish/banner_1.jpg (http://s61.photobucket.com/user/serbusfish/media/banner_1.jpg.html)

anthonys51
09/08/2015, 04:34 PM
nice looking tank. i dont really see an algae problem though. little on the powerhead, but nothing crazy

billdogg