PDA

View Full Version : ID please

BarryV
09/14/2015, 09:53 AM
Hi All,
Is the image below Dendrophyllia Coral or Sun Coral?
Thanks,
Barry

Hope_L
09/14/2015, 04:45 PM
Have you got a picture of it with the tentacles extended? That's probably going to be helpful in the ID because all closed up they look very similar. I do know my dendro does not have tissue that is connected like that. I'm no pro on this but if you have a pic of it open I'm sure it would be easier to tell for sure.

BarryV
09/14/2015, 05:34 PM
Have you got a picture of it with the tentacles extended? That's probably going to be helpful in the ID because all closed up they look very similar. I do know my dendro does not have tissue that is connected like that. I'm no pro on this but if you have a pic of it open I'm sure it would be easier to tell for sure.

Hope L thanks for looking. I have only had this sun coral for one day.
It did open about half way this afternoon. After doing a little research I believe it is a pink sun coral. From what I found out sun corals come
in Black, Yellow,Pink and Orange. Below is the photo from this afternoon.
Barry

Hope_L
09/14/2015, 07:57 PM
I think it is a sun coral but again I'm far from a pro. Here is a good resource for info on sun corals
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2011/12/corals