PDA

View Full Version : New and Need Help - Setting up a 120 gallon tank with a 30 gallon sump

Buddabelch
09/14/2015, 03:08 PM
Hello All,

I am new to saltwater but not new to the aquarium life. I have managed a 55 gallon heavily planted aquarium for many years with a lot of success. But I find myself wanting more.

I have a 120 Gallon Display tank and a 30 gallon spare that will be used as a sump. I am confused by all the talk of what is the right way to plumb it all and what I would need to do it. So I thought I would ask those that have a lot of experience. It will start as a FOWLR and once I get the $$ to upgrade lighting and a few other things will turn into a Reef setup.

I was thinking about drilling 4 1" holes (1 on either end for drains, about 3 inches in from the sides and 2 at 2' from the ends for the returns). The height of where the holes will be drilled to where the sump will sit will be approx. 4 feet (give or take a few inches).

The Sump will be divided into 3 chambers. Water will flow into chamber 1, where it will be initially filtered and a protein skimmer will be there. The water will move to chamber 2 where I would like to setup a refugium (w/Live Sand or refugium mud, Live Rock, Macro Algae, copepods and amphipods...This would then flow into Chamber 3 where I will have the heater and return pump. in the main tank I planned on 2-3" of Live Sand and 100 lbs of Live rock.

I have attached a picture of the starting setup...Still have a ways to go though...

Will 1" holes be adequate?
What would be your advice on the proper size return pump?
Will I need to add ball valves to control flow to/from or both?

Is there anything that I may have missed.

Any recommendations for this newbie would be greatly appreciated...

Regards,

Kevin

:headwally:

stingeragent
09/14/2015, 04:16 PM
Before you start drilling, figure out what type of overflow setup you want be it durso, herbie, bean

whosurcaddie
09/14/2015, 04:34 PM