PDA

View Full Version : Hey RCs! Need help solving a puzzle...the tomb of death.

HeadstrongRSS
09/17/2015, 06:49 PM
Hey everyone, sooo I need some help. Bear with me, it's somewhat long. I'm somewhat new to this hobby, but really do a bunch of research. Wifey thinks I'm obsessed. I have a 36g bowfront, hob Aquaclear 70, 800 GPH cheapo circulation pump, jager 150w heater setup that I've been trying to get going and am having some bad luck.

I started with green spotted puffers...a fresh-to-then-brackish fish. Just one, with lots of decoration, crushed coral, etc. I had done a fishless cycle, using pure (nothing-added) ammonia and keeping it at 4ppm until finally nitrites dropped to 0 and nitrate appeared. 90% water change, then did another 4ppm ammonia, waited 24 hours, retest to see if there is 0 ammonia or nitrite. If good, stocking time. This is the process I go each time cycling. I use the saltwater API liquid tests btw.

I picked one out, So he had lots to do, I fed a variety of foods, gut loaded live ghost or brine shrimp, etc. Super social, greeted me, etc. I checked water daily, no levels until end of week a tiny bit of nitrate. I did a 33% water change each week, as told by thepufferforum peeps. Everything good for about 3 weeks...then one day, he doesn't come out. I look deeper, he's dead. No warning. No other inhabitants. Discouranged, I doubled down on research, looking for IPs, etc.

I get another...same process. But this one, dead, 1 week. LFS is confused, says they're touchy, tests my water. All good levels. Meh. This got me down, I took a month off, ended up having to re-cycle. But I got another...he's looking healthy for about 6 weeks...then one day, he doesn't eat. Next day, dead. WTH!