PDA

View Full Version : Sump plumbing question

stingeragent
09/19/2015, 07:22 PM
Ok, so the 125 is in. Has dual corner overflows, with a single 1" drain in each. Return is 3/4 plumbed over the top. The way the previous owner had it, was both drains came down to a T, and then down into the sump. I've no experience with this type of setup, so I'm curious about how I regulate the flow. There are no ball/gate valves on the current plumbing. Also, the T is actually a cross. Is a 4 way PVC piece, 2 drains come in on either side, 1 pipe down to the sump, and 1 pipe that goes up 6 inches with a cap ( I have no clue what that top piece is for). Granted the whole system will obviously be regulated by the return pump which is on a single 3/4 pipe. Should I put some valves in on this somewhere? Also, it looks like he did the T thing, so that he could have a single output down into the filter sock. Is there a better way to set this whole thing up? I'm sure the 2 drains can outperfom the return, so I'm not really worried about a flood, just more along the lines of regulating the water level height in the DT, as well as minimizing splashing noised down into the overflow. Both overflows are bottom to top, with the bulkheads on the bottom glass. I'm also thinking those 2 drains basically having a head on collision will cause a fair amount of back pressure reducing the drains flow rate.
Edit: Just did some research on the return pump. It's a mag drive 9.5b which supposedly is rated at 950gph.
http://i772.photobucket.com/albums/yy3/chad_roberts4/2015091395205021_zpsriwzo0ey.jpg

thegrun
09/19/2015, 10:08 PM
Is there any way you can drill at least one more drain line to act as an emergency drain? If so that opens up a lot of options for you to rework the drain lines to make them silent. If not it is going to be difficult to quiet them down.

Brando457
09/19/2015, 10:14 PM