PDA

View Full Version : Hanna checker for Nitrate update

Scubajoe1
09/29/2015, 07:20 PM
So I spoke to the folks at Hanna today and asked...

Hi there, I am a chemist and an avid marine aquarium enthusiast. I was curious as to why Hanna has not come out with a nitrate marine test kit. I have made a standard curve in my lab for nitrates at 0,1,2,3,4,5 and 10 ppm. From this curve I am able to elucidate the nitrate concentration for my reef aquarium by running the sample through a UV spectrometer and getting an absorbance reading. It seems the chemistry is already established for the reaction and there is a HUGE market value for a digital test kit for nitrate. I use the Hanna checkers for all my other assays and was wondering why the nitrate test kit has not been introduced. Can you please forward this to your R&D department for a possible explanation and suggestion.

They quickly replied with...

Thank you for your input regarding a Nitrate Checker HC. It would not be a stretch for us to offer a Checker HC for Nitrate testing since we currently offer the HI96728 portable version. All of the Hanna Checkers are based on previous versions of our portable colorimeter line. The current portables use a tungsten lamp with a narrow band interference filter that excluded all other wavelengths except the one of interest. The previous versions used an LED at a specific wavelength as a light source. The majority of the Checker HC’s are using an LED as a light source.

The portable meter for nitrate is using 525 nm which we have an LED for, so from a mechanical standpoint there are no issues. From a chemistry standpoint the cadmium reduction method has two issues:
There is a chloride interference above 100 mg/L. This would seem to be overcome if the curve is developed with standards prepared in artificial seawater.