PDA

View Full Version : [noob] Help with what lighting to get

splix
10/13/2015, 04:45 PM
I'm brand new to the hobby. I've currently got a lot coming from BRS which should make for a busy weekend.

155 gallon reef and fish with live rock. I'm a bit new still and I dont have a good go to resource yet for reef 101.
I believe I have most things figured out except for lighting. I'm sure some other things depend on my question, but what type of lighting is best for reef and fish? I've been watching videos and things and everyone is all over the place with what they're setting up.
One of the best one's (I believe) I watched was a guy would have different cycles of different lights (10k, 20k) throughout the day.
What frequency do I need for best growth with coral and fish? I dont want to accidentally bleach out my corals, nor do I want to deprive them of what light they need.
My tank is 6' long by 2' wide and 2' deep.
Edit: nothing at all is setup yet, just the empty tank. I'm about to aqua scape and plumb everything this weekend.

heathlindner25
10/13/2015, 05:04 PM
Great question.....following this one.

Bent
10/13/2015, 05:19 PM
I'm brand new to the hobby. I've currently got a lot coming from BRS which should make for a busy weekend.

155 gallon reef and fish with live rock. I'm a bit new still and I dont have a good go to resource yet for reef 101.
I believe I have most things figured out except for lighting. I'm sure some other things depend on my question, but what type of lighting is best for reef and fish? I've been watching videos and things and everyone is all over the place with what they're setting up.
One of the best one's (I believe) I watched was a guy would have different cycles of different lights (10k, 20k) throughout the day.
What frequency do I need for best growth with coral and fish? I dont want to accidentally bleach out my corals, nor do I want to deprive them of what light they need.
My tank is 6' long by 2' wide and 2' deep.