PDA

View Full Version : Totally Stumped!

Gondore
10/14/2015, 05:46 PM
I was hoping someone here may be able to provide me with some guidance on what may be off with my tank.

I am running a 140 Reef Savvy rimless tank with a following equipment:

- ATI Sunpower 8 bulb with xho Reefbrite
- Avast kalk reactor
- Octopus 3000xp skimmer
- brs GFO and Carbon reactor
- 2 mp40s for flow
- puckani rock from BRS
- live sand (fine grain)

I am doing weekly water changes of about 15 to 20 gallons and change the gfo and carbon around the month mark. The tank has been running for around 6 months. I have about six years experience keeping an sps tank. My last tank was a 90 gallon that was around five years old and sps were literally feeling up the entire tank.

My issues is this brown fluffy stuff that grows on my rocks no matter what I do. I can't identify what it is though I have looked high and low. The weird thing is that this stuff seems to kill pretty much every fish I but in my tank. The weird part of all this is that my sps colors are average to above average and lps seem to be fine too. Growth isn't were I think it should be but otherwise the corals are fine...it's just the fish.

I am stumped at this point as to what to do. All parameters in the tank are good so it's something I can't test for. Does anyone have any suggestions at all?

dadummy
10/14/2015, 06:07 PM
see if the brown stuff is dinoflagellates

spkennyva
10/14/2015, 06:17 PM
Seems like if its killing fish then it might be some type of bacteria. I started my reef with dry rock, which grew some white/brown fluffy stuff. I thought it was due to lack of flow, so I put a powerhead down to improve the flow. About an hour later every fish in the tank was dead. Sounds like you may be dealing with the same stuff.

Gondore
10/14/2015, 06:24 PM