PDA

View Full Version : Is my clam dying?

Neutralised
10/20/2015, 08:55 PM
Hi, I am new in clam.. and recently I had acquired 2 big clams.. I would say they are doing well in my tank in the first 2 days.. but however this morning when I checked.. one of the clam mantle actually retract and the shell is not closing. The other is doing ok.. I don't think is normal right? Can anyone help me?

Neutralised
10/20/2015, 08:59 PM
here is the photo of my clam

SoloGarth
10/20/2015, 09:45 PM
So yes that looks like pinched mantel syndrome. I don't believe there is a known cause or treatment for this. Just theories.

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-09/jf/index.php

SoloGarth
10/20/2015, 09:46 PM
Take a pic of the inhalant siphon if you can. When they are going to die the inhalant siphon "gapes". Not that it can't die without seeing that, just when you do see it the clam is in serious trouble.

ca1ore
10/20/2015, 10:54 PM
It's not pinched mantle - it's dead mantle. When the inner tissues recede from the inner surfaces of the shell, its a gonner already. Sorry to say.

Neutralised
10/20/2015, 11:00 PM
It's not pinched mantle - it's dead mantle. When the inner tissues recede from the inner surfaces of the shell, its a gonner already. Sorry to say.

it just happen like that? yesterday when lights off its still ok... and when i checked on it this morning.. its like that.. OMG.. i am at wits end on the cause of it.

SoloGarth
10/21/2015, 07:19 AM

I've never heard of this. Do you have a reference?

ca1ore
10/26/2015, 10:04 PM
it just happen like that? yesterday when lights off its still ok... and when i checked on it this morning.. its like that.. OMG.. i am at wits end on the cause of it.