PDA

View Full Version : Help phasing out DSB

FortyFour
11/12/2015, 03:06 PM
I've been running a DSB in by refugium for almost 5 years now. My experience has been good, at least I think it has. However as it gets older, I feel like more can go wrong with it than good. I haven't maintained it so far other than removing detritus from the surface, which over time has turned my 6in DSB into more like 5in.

I've enjoyed the debate on the topic going on in this forum. Ultimately, I'm leaning towards phasing it out and leaving more room for liverock and macro algae.

1. If you have an opinion on this logic, please share

2. My plan would be to disconnect my refugium (15G), remove the sand, and do this as part of a larger water change. In your opinion, would this shock my tank (80G)?

3. Pods. I'd lose some but they'd replenish in time.

4. Is there anything else I should be thinking about? Thank you!

Green Chromis
11/15/2015, 09:20 AM
:fish1: Hi Jbuajr, I removed the DSB from my refugium last July, about 1200lbs of sand collect from the reefs off the Florida Keys, never had a problem and I removed the sand over a period of 3 weeks. I isolated the refug from the rest of the system as the sand was very dirty, but kept the water circulating in the refug so it would not become stagnant and kill all the life in the refug. All the sand was returned to the ocean. If I ever use a DSB in a refug again I will use filter socks to remove a lot of the waste that would collect in the sand instead of the socks. :fish1:

FortyFour
11/15/2015, 12:53 PM
Thanks for sharing. So just to confirm, you were more concerned about the possible ill effects of stirring up your DSB than you were about cutting off the refugium to your DT for 3 weeks?

Before I read your post, I was contiplating removing the DSB 25-33% at a time, but reconnecting the refugium to the DT after replacing all the water that was stirred up. Would you advise against?

FortyFour
11/15/2015, 01:05 PM