PDA

View Full Version : Noob from Vandenberg

Tokyolow81
11/16/2015, 09:49 AM
Hi all.

I just picked up a 28G Nano Cube (with lots of corals and two Clown Fish) on Friday from a buddy that's PCSing today (I'm sure he's a member of this forum). I'm a complete noob to saltwater tanks; however, I have experience in fresh water. Just perusing the forum to get educated and saw this section so thought I'd pop in and say hi.

The tank is doing surprisingly well after the transfer from his house to mine, but the thought of killing something has kept me up the last two nights, hence why I am researching this forum.

A little about me: Retired E-7 from AF two years ago. Former CE Power Pro, Ground Radio, and Client Systems Tech. Now, I'm a GS employee at Vandenberg AFB, CA.

Cheers,

Pete

nmotz
11/18/2015, 11:39 AM
Welcome to the hobby, it'll definitely give you something to do in your down time, haha. Maybe a little too much to do if I'm honest. I'm at Beale right now (north of Sacramento). Hope you enjoy your new tank.

Keep reading. After a while you'll notice just how many opinions there are out there for even simple concerns like where to keep salinity (1.021? 1.026?). Reading through thousands of these opinions and the experiences that come with them is one of the best ways to develop your own decisions for your tank. Yes, there is science to confirm or deny some of the anecdotal stuff, but in the end a glass box of water and the environment therein is very different from the actual ocean and any scientific data that might be derived from there. Best of luck to you!

Tokyolow81
11/20/2015, 09:01 AM