PDA

View Full Version : Food for panther grouper & Snowflake eel

mikedawg8898
11/16/2015, 12:14 PM
Hey guys I'm feeding my grouper and eel a piece of squid in the morning and a piece of shrimp in the afternoon, is this enough variation for their diet or should I add more different types of food? Thanks in advance

JaihWill
11/16/2015, 12:25 PM
I am fairly new to the hobby but it doesn't sound like that's enough for either. All depends on the size of the piece as well.

Again I could be wrong

toothybugs
11/16/2015, 12:28 PM
Try feeding them twice what you are and see how they respond. Worst case, you have to pull a chunk of chow out of the tank. I used to only need to feed my snowflake once every 2-3 days but that grouper is going to get big and big fast. It probably wants to eat.

Work chunks of clam and oyster in to their diets too.

mikedawg8898
11/16/2015, 12:35 PM
I am fairly new to the hobby but it doesn't sound like that's enough for either. All depends on the size of the piece as well.

Again I could be wrong

I usually feed them pieces of squid that are about an inch wide both ways and a whole shrimp that is about an inch and a half long, when I feed this to them, I cut it up into mouth sized pieces and my grouper eats most of it but I put some into the live rock my eel stays in so my grouper can't get to it

mikedawg8898
11/16/2015, 12:36 PM
Try feeding them twice what you are and see how they respond. Worst case, you have to pull a chunk of chow out of the tank. I used to only need to feed my snowflake once every 2-3 days but that grouper is going to get big and big fast. It probably wants to eat.

Work chunks of clam and oyster in to their diets too.

I'll try feeding them more today and I'll post how they do, my panther grouper is only 4-5 inches long and my snowflake eel is about 8 inches long and I'll ty the clam and oysters as well

CStrickland
11/16/2015, 01:34 PM