PDA

View Full Version : Feedback on first tank.

astroroxy
11/20/2015, 02:30 AM
Hello,

As I am new to the hobby was wondering if I could get some feedback for my tank.
First a few questions:
What are those little white things in my sump and overflow?Pics attached.
I have tried to search but no results. They are in dark places.

How does my new RBTA look? I am tempted to move it as it can not fully open at its position. My light is an Orbit marine led Is this fine? How do my other corals look and what are they? Seller had no idea what they are.

My clownfish are pigs. I have tried to spot feed my diamondback but they always steal it. Any suggestions or do you think he is ok?

What is that little dragon like fish?

Thanks!
Photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/Fu8Vw7wiQWuZkthj8

Sapelo
11/20/2015, 05:31 AM
Welcome to the addiction!

1.The little white things (I'm assuming what we see on the pipe?) look like some sort of sponge to me (probably pineapple but I'm having a hard time telling for sure), pretty common in new tanks and harmless.
How new is your tank? Looks like you have some coraline started on the glass which is nice.

2. Your RBTA does look crunched into that corner BUT they make their own choices so don't try to move it! If it wants to move, it will.

3. Your corals look like a mixture of zoas and a hammer in that very last picture. I don't know anything about your lighting and would suggest you do some research to make sure it has enough power for your RBTA. Everyone looks open and happy, but lighting is probably the most expensive and one of the most important features in dealing with nems and coral so check it out.

3. Yep. Clownfish are pigs, the challenge for you is learning to feed them in one corner and the others somewhere else. How large is your tank? A pair of clowns usually wants to control 30 gallons (or more -- mine are freaks and think they own 295 gallons of my 300 - ???).