PDA

View Full Version : Please help with my 180 gallon setup

Bellster165
11/24/2015, 08:07 PM
I have a 180 gallon tank that purchased when I was in college about 10 years ago from someone off of ebay. The guy had the tank set up as a reef tank and included most of his equipment with the purchase. I have had the tank set up as a freshwater tank and when I finally finished my basement I moved the tank down there and set it up a saltwater tank this summer. After looking at my electrical bill the last few months I need to make my setup way more efficient or I am going to go broke. I am also a teacher with two kids and a third on the way so money is tight. My biggest issue is that I think that sump is too small and I cant get it out from inside the stand to replace it because of a big center brace. The tank has two overflow boxes that drain through two filter socks into a 30 gallon oceanic reef ready sump with a Kent Marine Nautilus TE skimmer with a Mag 7. I also have another powerhead that feeds a carbon and GFO dual reactor that I picked up off of bulk reef supply and two 300 watt heaters in the sump. The sump then drains through a bulkhead into two Mag drive 18s that pump back into the tank. I added a separate 10 gallon tank that I added acrylic baffles to and made into a refugium that has some mangroves and chaeto. I originally tried to split one of the drains from the overflow into the fuge and then pump back into the sump, but couldn't get flow equalized and had to add another pump that sends water from my sump into the fuge. I also recently added two Hydor Koralia 3rd gen 2450 gph powerheads with a hydor smart wave controller for more circulation. I currently have the tank set up as FOWLR until I can afford a better lighting setup as right now I have a light that I got from Home Depot with 4 54 watt T5 bulbs.