PDA

View Full Version : Sum friendly advice needed!!

ReeferSutherlan
11/28/2015, 12:37 AM
HI YALL NAMES MAJOR N IM SOMEWHAT NEW TO THE HOBBY SO ID LIKE TO START OFF BY TELLIN U WHAT I AM WORKIN WITH.....SO FAR I HAVE A

55 GALLON SEACLEAR SYSTEM II ACRYLIC TANK WITH THE FILTER BUILT IN BACK FOR BIO MEDIA FILTRATION POWERHEAD ETC
40 LBS LIVE SAND
13lbs DEAD ROCK
1 powerhead FOR CIRCULATION

I ALSO SEEDED BACTERIA IN THE BIO BALLS IN THE BACK ASWELL!!! I STARTED OUT WITH A MAROON CLOWN BECAUSE I LET MY IDIOT LFS GUY CONVINCE ME TO DO A CYCLE WITH A FISH SMH SO THAT BEING SAID I WAS DOING EVERYTHING I VOULD TO CATER TO THE LIL DUDE I BOUGHT FLUVAL CONCENTRATED BACTERIA START UP WITH THE OPTION TO ADD FISH IMM. WHICH I HAD TO SAY DIDNT AFFECT THE LEVELS AT ALL AT FIRST.....MY GF FORGOT TO LEAVE THE AC ON IN THE HOUSE AND TEMP SKY ROCKETED N MY CLOWN DIED SMH

SO I HAVE NOW HAD A FISHLESS CYCLING TANK. I HEARD THAT ELEVATED TEMPS HELP THE BACTERIA GROW FASTER SO I LET THE TANK LINGER ROUND 84-88 degrees IS THT A BAD MOVE???

THE TANK HAS BEEN CYCLING FOR ABOUT THREE WEEKS AND MY AMMONIA IS AT 0 MY NITRITES AT 0 MY NITRATES A LITTLE OVER 0 my salinity is bout 33 and my gravity is about 1.026

THIS IS ALL AFTER AMMONIA AND NITRATE SPIKES (I THINK I MISSED THE NITRITE SPIKE)

DOES THIS MEAN MY TANK IS CYCLED OR DOES IT HAVE TO DO WITH MY FISH NOT BEING IN THE TANK TO PRODUCE AMMONIA? BUT SINCE THERE WAS AN AMMONIA SPIKE FROM THE JUMP WOULDNT THAT MEAN MY TANK HAS BEEN CYCLED???

ANYWHHO ANY ADVICE IS GREATLY APPRECIATED THANKZ!!!!

sde1500
11/28/2015, 06:45 AM
If you saw your ammonia spike and drop and didn't test but now have no nitrites your tank is probably cycled and ready for fish. Make you you QT any fish you get to not introduce disease into the tank. And maybe try not typing in all caps, it's a bit much to read.

gone fishin
11/28/2015, 08:09 AM