PDA

View Full Version : Who is breeding Angelfish?

ab5ebdxer
12/02/2015, 09:00 PM
I am just getting started with this idea of attempting to breed angels. I am wondering about breeding tank sizes.

Thanks,

Mike

Dmorty217
12/02/2015, 10:38 PM
You need a tall tank of 30" or more, 48" is better for a spawning rise to occur. I'm sure you have heard of Karen Brittain?

ab5ebdxer
12/02/2015, 10:42 PM
I have not heard of Karen, I have been doing some research but have not run across her yet. Thanks for the info on the tank size. I have read about needing a tall tank trying to figure out the configuration and plan the needed space.

Lrood
12/09/2015, 08:42 AM
I've been working with coral beauties for a while. Getting centropyge angels to spawn is not the hard part. I have a trio in a 125 gallon reef tank, 24" tall. First and second foods is probably the biggest challenge. So far I've only kept larvae alive for 3-4 days. It's a great project though, keeps me busy!

ab5ebdxer
12/09/2015, 10:41 AM
What first food are you using? I did find the following blog to very interesting.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/stream/circles/p14ca7c4089683555

Lrood
12/13/2015, 08:41 AM
Right now I'm only trying parvocalanus. I really don't think I even reached the starvation point from the larvae yet.

reefwiser
12/13/2015, 09:03 AM
http://fromfisheggstofry.blogspot.com/

Karen is the Angelfish breeder bar none.

FlameAngelfish
01/09/2016, 11:15 AM
*cough*
Honestly (but by no means at all to discourage you) I think you should drop breeding attempts when it gets too out-of-logical-thinking. But actually, it's pretty fun to try and, hey, what are the odds; you may even succeed in seeing baby Centropyge angelfish squirting around your aquarium!
Good Luck,
FlameAngelfish:fish1:
P.S.