PDA

View Full Version : Floor isn't level at all

btb72
12/07/2015, 07:33 PM
There is about an inch of slope on my 4' 120 gallon I'm setting up. Can I shim up my stand to make it level or is there another option. I know not to do it on the tank so no pressure points on that but just trying to find a way to do it.

davocean
12/07/2015, 07:39 PM
My floor was out that much too, I'm a contractor/carpenter, that much out is pretty bad.
Mine was also on uneven stone, so I had to lay a crete pad, but most likely you can either just shim it, or take 2x4 and rip it from say a 1/4" to 3/4" in 4' lengths so you can take out that half inch variation.
If your tank is trimmed you mainly need support at 4 corners, if not trimmed it's much more critical, but either way I'd make sure it is supported at center so your stand doesn't sag.
So I'd rip a 2x or shim every 6" or so

btb72
12/07/2015, 08:31 PM
As long as I can get it close I'll be happy. And by rip you mean using a table saw and cutting it down little by little. I've got one so that wouldn't be to hard to do. And my stand was over built so I'm not worried about it sagging to r anything just trying to make it the most stable it can be while level. The house was built in '54 so guess an inch over that time ain't too bad. Haha

Bogue Chitto
12/07/2015, 08:38 PM
You may place a 4 foot level along the bottom and mark a level line on the stand and then trim it off with a skill saw. That would make the top level.

btb72
12/07/2015, 09:02 PM
Don't want to ruin the stand for when/if I move if rather add to so I can take off later

reefbroao
12/07/2015, 09:22 PM
+1 to Dave I'm in the trades as well and id just rip up some 2x4. I dont think i'd touch the stand depending on the material that can compromise the structural integrity.

btb72
12/07/2015, 09:43 PM
Would you use a table saw or circular to make it precise? I'm pretty confident with both just seeing what would be easier. (Have both so no worries there.

davocean