PDA

View Full Version : Reef safe fish that swim around??

linelife1474
12/09/2015, 11:34 AM
right now I have 2 true percula clowns 10 hermit crabs one emerald crab and about 12 ghost shrimp my clowns don't move too far from left corner of tank and looking for something to add color and that will move around and that is reef safe any ideas would be greatly appreciated As I am new to the hobby

Thanks

heathlindner25
12/09/2015, 11:39 AM
Tank size?

vhuang168
12/09/2015, 11:39 AM
How big is your tank? Dimensions would help determine what fish you can have which will help narrow down what suggestions you will receive.

linelife1474
12/09/2015, 11:42 AM
55 gallon with 30 gallon sump\ refugium

fairl80z
12/09/2015, 11:49 AM
Angelfish , a Pygmy angel

dowjones1221
12/09/2015, 11:57 AM
Dottybacks have some really nice colors and the common ones are on the cheaper end. Dartfish/Firefish also have some really nice colors, also on the cheaper side.

linelife1474
12/09/2015, 11:58 AM
Was looking at the pygmy are they really reef safe?? Any experience with them

reefbroao
12/09/2015, 12:00 PM
Angels are not reef safe. people may have luck with them but they will nip at corals by nature. You're looking at a 50/50 shot that they'll eat your corals .

linelife1474
12/09/2015, 12:01 PM
Dottybacks and dart\firefish are jumpers correct don't have a lid and last thing I want is to find on floor and my cat eating them lol

linelife1474
12/09/2015, 12:02 PM
Yah 50/50 is not something I want to risk thanks

fairl80z
12/09/2015, 12:05 PM
I've never had a problem with any of my pygmys , they are reef safe with caution .

Taahirs
12/09/2015, 12:14 PM
Most fish can jump. Best you get a cover. Fairy wrasse are awesome.

reefbroao
12/09/2015, 12:17 PM
Yes with caution but i'm not about to say oh well when it eats my cali tort. At least my LFS says that its just not worth it if you have expensive corals.

vhuang168
12/09/2015, 12:21 PM
Angelfish , a Pygmy angel

Not always reef safe.