PDA

View Full Version : New to GFO, have some questions

Darth_Tater
12/17/2015, 08:17 AM
Hi all!

I wasn't sure if this should go here, the chemistry thread, or the DIY thread, but I've decided to try GFO in a DIY "reactor" and have some questions.

I've got a 40 breeder with a 20 long sump (total system volume about 50 gallons). I've got GHA growing like crazy. As in 6+ inches per week. I'm guessing the phosphate is coming out of my rock since I don't consider myself that heavy an over-feeder. My nitrates are undetectable. I've got 5 T5s about 9 inches above the tank. I have a very large skimmer for this size tank, it's an Eshopps but don't remember the specific model right now, but it's advertised for 200-ish gallons. Oh, and I've been doing 20 percent water changes twice a week for 2 months now with very little impact.

My setup will be this: a small old Eheim canister filter for the "reactor". I'll have an old Marineland Maxi-Jet 400 pushing water through it (the canister is going to sit in such a way that I won't be able to start a siphon so I can't use the internal pump). It's low flow for a container that size, so not sure I'll get much tumbling, but I ordered the high density GFO so hopefully it will work out.

So the questions:
How much GFO should I start out with?

Is it true using too much can cause more harm than good?

How often do I need to change it? I'm assuming this will depend on how high my phosphates are, which I don't know for sure because phosphate test kits are stupid (in my experience at least).

Thanks in advance for any input!

scooter31707
12/17/2015, 08:21 AM
When I started using GFO, I started off with about 1/4 of what was recommend, then gradually worked up, if needed.

Green Chromis
12/17/2015, 08:28 AM