PDA

View Full Version : Need help - white spot?

emk35
12/17/2015, 10:55 AM
I have a mimic filefish in a 10 gallon quarantine tank right now. All has been going well - he has been eating great and I have not observed any signs of stress/discomfort (at least to my novice eye). Yesterday I noticed one tiny white spot on him. It is very hard to see and I only noticed it after sitting there for several minutes eyeing him up close. I can't get a picture because it is on a white part of his body so it's only visible from just the right angle when he is facing almost exactly facing me.

So I'm trying to figure this out.....is this ich? Is there anything else it could potentially be? Any way for me to tell or anything I can do to try and figure it out? I don't know if I should start treating for ich or if there is something else I should be doing. I have never had any type of disease or subsequent treatment to deal with before so I am totally new to this (outside of all the reading I've done).

I should add: this is my first time setting up a quarantine tank and going through the quarantine process. I didn't even know people did that the last time I had a tank! I can say that I sure am glad that he is in a quartantine tank right now. Even if it turns out not to be ich I would be much, much more stressed out right now if he was in my main tank!

emk35
12/18/2015, 06:41 PM
Any recommendations?

If this is likely ich, is there any reason why a file fish could not handle cupramine? I have some on hand (as well as a copper test) but I have never used it before. I'm trying to search here as much as I can to figure out if I need to start treating or if this is likely something else and I should just sit tight and continue to observe. Do I need a picture to get help?

ThRoewer
12/18/2015, 06:54 PM
I would rather do TTM than expose a fish to an immunosuppressant toxin which copper is.