PDA

View Full Version : ecosmart live + reeflink unusable

kameo
12/18/2015, 04:05 AM
Hi dear fellowship of the reef,

I granted myself with a reeflink from Ecotech and wanted to provide you with feedback. I use it for my pumps only since I chose a Pac.sun lightning rig and not a ecotech one. No clue about the efficiency of ecosmart for the radeon. But for the pumps...

For a better understanding, I'm an IT engineer, so not totally clueless about IT/SaaS software and embedded devices. I code in several language and assembled quite some few automation system for my tank, based on a raspberry pi.

Pumps are great, not so loud as I was told (and I'm very sensitive to noise in my living room) well engineered and seems sturdy. But, beyond the hype, the "modes" are basic scheduling of how much power, when and is it synchronous with other pumps or not. The reefcrest, lagoon blablabla is just a variation of speed of the engine. IE the feedmode is just a constant speed lowered in value to allow the fish to move in a smaller current, when the lagoon is a variation of speed with a pattern. Ok, leave the hype, it's nothing more than this. A motor, moving the head through induction at various speed. The pumps includes a RF system to communicate between them and with the reeflink. Reeflink itself is a basic gateway between the RF wave used by the pumps and your local wifi or lan.

Now about the Ecosmart APP & website. I tried on Iphone 6, Ipad 4, Windows + firefox, windows + chrome, Macbook + chrome, all ended up with the same deceptive experience.

It's plainly a disaster. This thing is impossible to properly configure.
1/ The app is very old style, not scaling on an ipad (mode 2x)
2/ The XML export of the configuration is super buggy and not reimportable in the software (mess up everything)