PDA

View Full Version : voltage with no power

jbomar3771
12/20/2015, 09:22 PM
I turn everything off. Nothing in the tank has power going to it but when i put a meter on it i get 15 volts. With everything plugged in i get 30 volts. Why would it show 15 volts with no power?

shortcake
12/20/2015, 10:36 PM
I'm not an electrician but just turning things off doesn't necessarily mean its not still drawing energy. That's why it is suggested, to help save money, that you unplug whatever you can when not in use, so it doesn't continue to draw electricity. For example, chargers may still draw energy when not in use in order to detect feedback.

jbomar3771
12/20/2015, 11:03 PM
Yes. Thats what i did. I completely unplugged everything

shortcake
12/20/2015, 11:09 PM
hmmm then I'm not too sure, perhaps an issue with the meter then...

karimwassef
12/21/2015, 05:00 AM
what are you measuring and how are you measuring it?

The physical implementation of the measurement matters too (length of wire), grounding, etc...

jbomar3771
12/21/2015, 07:21 AM
Like they do on YouTube. I put the ground in the ground on a wall outlet and the red in the water. I get the right voltage when i test the socket.

BeanAnimal
12/21/2015, 08:24 AM
If everything is unplugged, then there is no current path. The reading is erroneous, and a result the meter's design. It is showing a fixed floating voltage in the absence of ANY voltage and instead of floating or showing open, it shows a fixed voltage as the result of capacitance.

If the tank IS grounded, then you are reading the difference in potential between the two grounds. Without measuring current flow through the circuit, the reading is meaningless and again likely due to the design of the meter. If you did try to measure the current flow that is causing the meter to read 15 volts between the ground and unplugged, grounded tank, there is likely not enough to measure.