PDA

View Full Version : Aptasia and Bubble Algae

msujohn
01/08/2016, 01:12 PM
I have been battling aptasia for several months, i use a kalk paste and it kills it but they seem to pop up in other locations a week later? Is adding a couple of peppermint shrimp a better long term option? How many would I get? Any concerns with them in a reef tank?

I also have some bubble algae, not alot, but on one rock. I pulled out (manually) everything I could get to, but still have some on the rock. I've read adding emerald crabs is a good option. But, I worry that they will kill fish, etc. What other option do I have to kill this bubble algae?

wildman926
01/08/2016, 02:32 PM
I have used a matted file fish for quite some time to rid my tank of aptasia and mejano anemones. The keep to keeping him reef safe after all "APPEARS" to be gone, is to keep him fed. Otherwise, they will dine on your corals. I strongly state "appears", because aptasia or majano anemones can hid in the rock for quite some time. This has been my experience.

On the bubble algae, why not take the rock and scrub and rinse it in a bucket of sw?

oblio
01/08/2016, 03:45 PM
Aptasia, copper banded butterfly. Ive had on and off battles with aptasia for years. nudibranches did an amazing but then 9 months later they reappeared. I got a copperband and the aptasia are gone as much as I cant see them. And thats good enough for me. He eats mysis so in between I hope to keep him happy, to be honest now I want the aptasia to show up so he has something to do. :)
The bubble algae, since I got my water params better and better it has disappeared for the most part, super high flow areas seem to show a few now and then, like the return weir. or on the mp40 itself. But I simply pull em off and throw em away when I see them.

msujohn
01/08/2016, 04:45 PM
On the bubble algae, why not take the rock and scrub and rinse it in a bucket of sw?[/QUOTE]

I have quite a few nice pieces of coral on the rock and worry I'll disturb them.